Research

Although the Institute for the History and Ethics of Medicine (IGEM) has been undergoing a realignment since 2018, it has already been able to establish a place among the most research-intensive institutes in this subject area in the German-speaking world.

Research at IGEM is carried out in numerous projects, funded by a wide range of third-party donors such as the EU, BMBF, DFG, NIH, Max Planck Society and the Bavarian Research Institute for Digital Transformation (bidt). Since 2018, over 3.5 million euros in funding has been acquired at the institute.

In the context of research, IGEM maintains various collaborations with other departments within TUM as well as with other universities and institutes in Germany and abroad. These currently include, for example, the Munich School of Robotics and Machine Intelligence (MSRM) or the Institute of Political Science at the University of Vienna.

The research results of IGEM are regularly presented to the public: on the one hand to the professional public via the classical scientific formats such as journals, lectures and conferences, and on the other hand also to the interested public via press releases, articles and interviews on the research topics via reports in mass media and social media.

In addition, one focus of IGEM is to incorporate research findings into concrete political practice and decision-making processes in the context of policy advice.

As support for our research projects, we are regularly looking for students with research assistantships. Interested students are welcome to contact medizinethik.med@tum.de at any time with meaningful application documents (letter of motivation, CV, CTS transcript).

Contact

The Institute for the History and Ethics of Medicine welcomes your contact.

T  +49 89 4140 4041
M  medizinethik.med@tum.de

Mon-Thu: 9 a.m.-3 p.m., Fri: 9 a.m.-1 p.m. (core hours)
Ismaninger street 22
81675 Munich
en_USEN

Forschung

Obwohl das Institut für Geschichte und Ethik der Medizin (IGEM) seit 2018 eine Neuausrichtung erfährt, konnte es sich bereits einen Platz unter den forschungsstärksten Instituten in diesem Themenfeld im deutschsprachigen Bereich erarbeiten.

Geforscht wird am IGEM in zahlreichen Projekten, gefördert von den unterschiedlichsten Drittmittelgebern wie EU, BMBF, DFG, NIH, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft und dem Bayerischen Forschungsinstitut für Digitale Transformation (bidt). Seit 2018 wurden am Institut über 3,5 Millionen Euro an Fördergeldern eingeworben.

Im Rahmen der Forschung unterhält das IGEM verschiedene Kooperationen mit anderen Fachbereichen innerhalb der TUM sowie mit anderen Universitäten und Instituten aus dem In- und Ausland. Hierzu gehören aktuell beispielsweise die Munich School of Robotics and Machine Intelligence (MSRM) oder das Institut für Politikwissenschaft der Universität Wien.

Die Forschungsergebnisse des IGEM werden regelmäßig der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert: zum einen der Fachöffentlichkeit über die klassischen wissenschaftlichen Formate wie Zeitschriften, Vorträge und Konferenzen, und zum anderen auch der interessierten Öffentlichkeit durch Pressemitteilungen, Beiträge und Interviews zu den Forschungsthemen über Berichte in Massenmedien und Social Media.

Außerdem liegt ein Fokus des IGEM darauf, die Forschungsergebnisse im Rahmen von Politikberatung in die konkrete politische Praxis und Entscheidungsprozesse einzubringen.

Als Unterstützung für unsere Forschungsprojekte suchen wir regelmäßig Studierende mit wissenschaftlichen Hilfstätigkeiten. Interessierte Studierende sind herzlich eingeladen, sich jederzeit mit aussagekräftigen Bewerbungsunterlagen (Motivationsschreiben, Lebenslauf, CTS-Protokoll) an medizinethik.med@tum.de zu wenden.

Kontakt

Das Institut für Geschichte und Ethik der Medizin freut sich über Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.

T  +49 89 4140 4041
M  medizinethik.med@tum.de

Kernzeiten:
Mo-Do 9:00 bis 15:00 Uhr (Am 13.09.2022 10:00-15:00 Uhr)
Fr: 9:00 bis 14:00 Uhr
Postanschrift (nur Briefsendungen!)
Institut für Geschichte und Ethik der Medizin
Ismaninger Straße 22
81675 München